Welcome to the Teaching & Learning Department



Welcome to the Teaching & Learning Department
The purpose of the Department of Teaching & Learning is to plan, coordinate, implement, support and evaluate the instructional programs of Brainerd Public Schools.

We oversee the implementation of early childhood through grade 12 curriculum as well as state/federal assessments, gifted and talented programming, and professional development.



Timothy Murtha
Timothy.Murtha@isd181.org
Director of Teaching & Learning
218-454-6935 

Tonya Person
Tonya.Person@isd181.org
Reading Recovery Teacher
218-454-6932

Jill Marohn 
Jill.Marohn@isd181.org
Literacy & Social Studies Coordinator 
218-454-6951

Patty Wallace 
Patricia.Wallace@isd181.org
Math & Science Integrationist Teacher 
218-454-6973 

Cindy Silvernale
Cynthia.Silvernale@ias181.org
Curriculum Secretary
218-454-6970

Jennifer Knutson
Jennifer.Knutson@isd181.org
Title Coordinator
218-454-6948

Michelle Pejka
Michelle.Pejka@isd181.org
Student Information System Specialist
218-454-6949

Tim Edinger 
Timothy.Edinger@isd181.org
A-Comp Coordinator 
218-454-6933 

Diane Roberts
Diane.Roberts@isd181.org
A-Comp & Staff Dev. Assistant
218-454-6979