Elementary Programming and Services

Elementary Programming and Services

Programming for capable learners at the elementary level is structured around a 4 tiered model. Each tier addresses and provides support for the degree of student academic need.

TIER 1: Consists of differentiation within the core curriculum. This tier is available to  

              all learners as student’s individual needs arise during the school day. These are

              considered Universal Interventions.

TIER 2: Consists of enrichment opportunities and competitions that may be offered

              within the classroom, school or at the district level. This tier of programming

              requires time beyond what the school day provides.

TIER 3: Consists of identifying a student for formal cluster groupings within each

              elementary school. This programming is determined as a result of a student’s

              score of 90% or higher in identified curriculum areas.

TIER 4: Consists of an intense, modified curriculum, and pacing and is delivered in a  

              School-Within-A-School (SWAS) model. A student  that qualifies for this level of

              programming do so through a portfolio review and are invited based on a

              composite score that looks at cognitive ability, performance and behaviors.This

              tier addresses the academic need of the top 3-5% of the population.